Going Green…One Bag at a Time

Hello fellow frugal friends,

Have you heard that on July 1st Thurston County will be banning plastic bags from stores?  In addition to that, stores will be required to charge you a minimum of 5 cents per paper bag you get.  If you don’t believe me, check out the Thurston County site:  www.co.thurston.wa.us/solidwaste/bags/bags-home.html.  Because of this, I have been on the hunt for the best reusable bags at the best price.  I have been doing this for about two months, and today is the day I have found that place.  At .88 per bag, WinCo tops the charts, for best price for the size!  

Image

 

I have looked at most of the “normal” places you would go to get these:  Fred Meyers, Top Foods (Haggen), Safeway, Trader Joe’s and so forth.  These WinCo bags are just as good as or better quality than some of the bags I found at these other retailers.  On top of that, these bags are HUGE, which allows me to have to buy less.  Most of the other bags around started at .99 and moved up to around $2-3 for bags the same size as the WinCo bags.  I purchased five today, and will be buying more before July comes.  I predict the price of the bags will go up because people will have to have them.  I could be wrong… But why find out and have to pay a higher price, when I can get them at such an affordable price now?

Now, I know that you can’t quit tell how big these bags are by looking at the picture, but to put it into monetary perspective, I put $50 worth of groceries in three of them with room!  This included two melons and four pounds of strawberries! 

 

On a different note, WinCo also had a great deal on a few other things:

Pepsi products:  $4.98 for a 24 pack, but if you look at the cases, there are $1 off stickers on most of them, making the total price $3.98.  This is even cheaper than the store brand cola.  

Easter candy 🙂  Yummmy!  All of the Easter candy was marked down, but by how much I don’t know.  They had already just changed the tags.  I know Robin Eggs were $1 and Starburst Jelly Beans were about the same  🙂  So why don’t you celebrate the day after Easter, with some Easter candy!

Not the most enthralling post today, but it’s still a way to save!  

 

Until next time…

E.

Leave a Reply

